PhotoVoice Part 2:

Curated Feed Via: Flat Tummy Co Instagram Feed
Flat tummy Co Instagram Feed
Detox Tea- Source: Flat Tummy Tea Co Website
Meal Replacement Shake-Source: Flat Tummy Co Website
Appetite Suppression Lollipops-Source: Flat Tummy Co Website
Information Tool Bar- Source: Flat tummy Co Website

Weight loss products have been on the market for a long time. In our instant gratification society, people are often looking for quick results. Tummy flattening/detox teas have been a popular product on social media. The more popular companies have even had reality stars, and influencers promote their products. These paid promotions have been controversial as the reality stars in question are known to have access to personal chefs, fitness instructors, and plastic surgeons. Yet they are attributing their weight loss to these products. I decided to have a closer look at Flat Tummy Tea Co. which is one of the most popular detox tea brands.  As I scrolled through their Instagram feed, I could tell that their target market is twentysomethings. There is a certain appealing aesthetic of pink, cute workout clothes and sneakers, colorful manicures, cutesy life quotes, and perfectly posed pictures from influencers. All the things that they know their target market love. I was very curious about what exactly is in the products they sell. Their product line includes the detox tea, shakes, and lollipops all marketed as weight management tools. I noticed that there does not seem to be any ingredient information on the Instagram page. I visited the website from my phone but initially could not find the ingredient list. After switching over to my computer, however, I realized I must have just scrolled past it on my phone. After reading through the ingredient list of the tea, shakes and lollipops, I was ready to answer the question “Do I really know what I need to make a healthy choice?”. The answer for me is no. Although they do provide an ingredient list, I found myself needing to know more about what is in the products. A few of the ingredients on the Shake and lollipops are trademarked but they do not provide any detailed information on them. The tea description empathizes that it is natural but does not go into detail about how it works. I had to scroll down to the FAQ to find out how it works.  “What’s the typical discourse (what “most people” say?) about this & similar products/services?” The discourse on detox teas seems to be very mixed. The website boasts 15,000 positive reviews from happy customers. But others, including doctors have been vocal about the potential harms.

Viewing the Instagram and website of this company made me realize how important a skill like critical literacy is. It was one of the first theories I learned in this class and has been utilized frequently during my work. The messaging on this website implies that their “natural” products are gentle. I decided to dig a little deeper and look up the ingredient Senna. Senna is a natural leaf and acts as a laxative. Prolonged use (more than 2 weeks) of Senna can be harmful as your body begins to rely on a laxative to move your bowels, according to the The U.S National Library of Medicine (McNeilly, 2016). One of their products is a 4-week cleanse, which contradicts this recommendation. Where are the protections for consumers? I believe the benefits of completing a project like this, even for someone with limited understanding of consumer health, are that you begin to ask questions and go looking for the answers. I have seen these teas advertised for years and have never given them much thought. Seeing how some of the products are marketed to young women as a quick fix over diet and nutrition does not feel right to me. I hope this project influences readers to research health products before purchasing them. We live in the age of influencer marketing and tend to trust those we follow on social media. But we must remember they are being paid to sell a product and out best interests are not always taken into consideration.

References:

Cleanse & Debloat or cut The Cals. Flat Tummy Co. (n.d.). https://flattummyco.com/.

McNeilly, C. (2016, January 15). Why Instagram’s Favorite diet – “Teatoxing” – won’t actually help you lose weight. Teen Vogue. https://www.teenvogue.com/story/tea-detox-teatox-bad-for-health-dangers.

Leave a comment