Early Life Prompt #1

What a more perfect topic for me, as I am about 35 days away from giving birth to my first child. I have already gone over the birth slides, so I with a quick overview there and the reading of the midwives, cord blood, birthing video trend, and C-section options, I learned a lot. You would think, being pregnant that I would have already known a lot of this since I am living it currently, but wow. What a word out there for families and mothers to be. Lets start with the question at hand: What do I think young parents would really like to know? Well, what did I want to know? I wanted to know what I didn’t actually need! I didn’t want to buy unnecessary things, and I still have yet to find out if I have or not. I also wanted to know, what are the best health options for my unborn child and I. Reading the cord blood article, it really took me back. In my teens I always had this idea what I would save my babies cord blood because you never know and I thought I understood the importance of saving it. After reading the article and finding out that, in reality, it’s all just played on fear (at least in my opinion), I wouldn’t even waste my time trying to save the blood. For my pregnancy now, saving the blood wasn’t an option as I thought it was so expensive, but I did have plans for my second. Nope not anymore. It’s easy for companies to play on the emotions of new parents, or even second or third time around parents, cause not many parents are educated. This is what confirms it for me that people are vulnerable to unneeded products. As I read on, I learned that women are not even given the option to potentially have a vaginal birth after a C-section. Why? I mean, they go on about how dangerous and the risks are higher and etc., but is that the truth? C-sections cost in the range of $18-$30k (based off a quick google search). I think, although there may be risks, the risks really don’t outweigh the benefits of a vaginal birth. This here again, playing on fear of the unknown. So, back to the question: What do I think they would really want to know? The truth. About as much as they can get, and learn to keep the emotions out of it, cause that’s where they’re going to get duped the most. And being new parents, of course you can’t do everything right, but you can learn from the first time around.

Leave a Reply

