Consumer Protection & Regulation: Prompt 1

After looking over the different articles I found the article concerning Walmart’s announcement to phase-out hazardous chemicals most intriguing. Since I had found out that I was pregnant I became very cautious and aware of the products I utilized as a consumer. I also plan to be this way when my little guy is born and it is eye-opening to see that products used everyday and of such popular brands have such harmful chemicals in them.

As a consumer I feel that I am not protected as much as I would like to be. This is because labels are just that labels. They hopefully reveal all that is in a product, but they also provide so much information on them that a consumer would be overwhelmed with the amount they’d have to Google before purchasing that item. For myself, I look at labels and for the most part it is a lot of language, so I Google what I don’t know. It would probably be in my best interest to learn or become better familiar with the Environmental Protection Agency, the Campaign for Safe Cosmetics, the Toxic Control Substances Act, and the Safer Chemicals, Healthy Families coalition. All of these agencies and acts were introduced in the article provided by USA Today, which can serve as a great introduction to the issue. The knowledge of these agencies and acts combined with knowledge of products or chemicals that are hazardous to us are what can help us be healthier consumers. This issue is a lot to consider when going shopping for day-to-day products, but even simple awareness like looking closer at labels can really help us be better consumers for ourselves and those we care about.

https://www.usatoday.com/story/news/nation/2013/09/12/walmart-disclose-phase-out-toxic-chemicals-products-cosmetics/2805567/

Leave a Reply

