C P & R: Prompt One

As a consumer of sodium, it is hard to say whether I feel protected or not. I will admit that, as a college student, I find myself eating fast food more than I’d like to admit. On Friday nights when it has been a long week and I can’t quite seem to find the energy to cook, it’s always easiest to grab a bite to eat somewhere outside of my home. Even though I am a nutrition major and care deeply about remaining healthy, I do have my slip ups. This is what causes me to be so unsure of how protected I am when it comes to being a consumer of sodium. I feel as if when I eat my own food at home my sodium intake is extremely low and when the weekend hits and I eat out most the days, my sodium intake must be at an all-time high. These two put me in the extremes of low sodium and very high sodium, which is what makes me wonder about my protection, is that healthy?

There is a large chunk of information that I do know about sodium and the impact large quantities of it have on your health however, there is also a lot for me to learn. I know that salt can increase your blood pressure which causes the heart to have to work harder. An unhealthy heart can lead to a multitude of negative health problems. I am also aware that adults should not consume more than 2,300 mg of sodium daily. For me, what I need to understand and learn about, is how to track my daily intake in milligrams so I can keep from going over 2,300 during the weekends.

Another way to help those keep track of how much sodium they consume would to remain comfortable and up to date on the laws regarding food labels. There is a specific spot on nutrition fact labels that show exactly how much sodium is in certain food items base on serving size. There is also a small place located beneath the nutrition facts that remind you how much should be consumed daily: 2,300 mg. With that being said, I think it is very important to be your own protector when it comes to sodium and excess consumption. In our world today, it is very easily hidden in so many different foods we eat. To remain healthy and protected as a consumer, education should be the number one priority.

Link

Leave a Reply

