Reflection

I absolutely love Public Health–the application of sociological philosophies! If I do make it into a graduate program, I’ll be considering public health in addition to clinical psychology! I learned a lot of why the ACA is so important; making it illegal to discriminate against pre-existing conditions when applying for medical insurance, the expansion of mental health services through Medicare, and I recently learned about this website: https://openpaymentsdata.cms.gov. I also discovered a lot of information about 401k fees, and my personal finances. I learned that public health has been the driving force behind many consumer protection laws, like; seatbelts, the distracted driver laws, baby back to bed, making lead and asbestos in consumer products illegal, and of course regulations for our food, pharmaceuticals and cosmetics. I have learned that even with all of these laws, we still need more. And to reiterate yet again, information and regulation brings autonomy. Thank you so much, I have learned a lot about public health this quarter!

Leave a Reply

