Course Reflection

I feel very fortunate to have taken this class both as a public health major and as someone living in a western society actively participating as a consumer. Before taking this course I took things at face value and never really did the research necessary to understand what I was really buying, nor did I stop to consider why I was buying (into) it. Through the required readings, the prompts we wrote, and reading my classmates work I was able to really practice these course objectives and gain a new perspective on consumer health. Health care legislation, consumer protection laws and agencies, some historical events, health policy, and finding consumer-relevant information were all things I felt I achieved very well during the duration of this course. Industry influence and unscientific claims are something I felt I was fairly well at dealing with beforehand, but this course helped teach me the importance of being thorough when it comes to what we are consuming, and I will therefore continue to practice this as I continue beyond this course. As far as collecting and sharing qualitative data, I am adequate. This course has certainly helped me, but it is definitely something I will continue to master through my other public health courses and in my future career. There is still so much to learn, health is constantly changing and progressing, and keeping up with it is something I love to do. Being a public health major, I have learned the importance of mental, physical, social, sexual health etc. but I never considered the importance of consumer health. This course was a great introduction into an aspect of public health that I really didn’t know or think much about, and I feel very grateful to have been able to expand my learning here on this blog.

Leave a Reply

