Reflection Post

Taking a class on Consumer Health has expanded my abilities to evaluate different services and products. As you pointed out in my snagit grading, I tend to put a lot of thought into things that interest me and little into things that do not. This is not only something that has effected my school work negatively, but my life as well in some cases. I put plenty of time into researching things I plan on purchasing for fun, but completely skip over researching many of the things that effect my health directly. I have also learned that I need to focus more on doing things in a timely manner, I let summer get the best of me and didn’t realize how close we were to the end of the quarter. Due to these realizations, I purchased a planner to keep track of deadlines, and I’ve started researching better dietary habits.

I believe the list to be filled with highly important topics, but I think that my politically focused mind is part of that opinion. I’m not too familiar with the public health major, but this list of topics seems like the type one in the field should focus on. For those outside of the field, I think it would be best to get them focused on things which more directly effect them (although all of the topics do). This concern will help people learn more on research and evaluation abilities, so they can continue to apply those skills when needed. I say this because that is exactly what the class has done for me, someone who is not a public health major.

 

 

Leave a Reply

