Food Prompt Two

In his article “Why ‘Everything in Moderation’ Doesn’t Work”, Jonathon Ross argues that eating unhealthy foods in moderation while mainly eating healthy foods doesn’t live up to is purpose, because the frequency by which the average person “eats in moderation” doesn’t give their body enough time to recover before eating more unhealthy food (n.d). This article was interesting, because a lot of the behaviors it describes reflect my own. I am not above buying processed foods to satisfy my hunger in a pinch or choosing unhealthy foods with fruits and vegetables added in order to “cancel things out”, though it really doesn’t cancel out much. As Ross states, eating processes foods with little to no nutritional value creates a physiological imbalance within the body, which “can take weeks or months to clear” (n.d.).

The article maps out what an average week might look for someone eating under the “moderation motto”, or someone eating under the assumption that eating unhealthy foods once in a while is okay as long as they are mainly eating healthy foods. What is shows is that “everything in moderation” often means eating one unhealthy food each day a week. With all of the advertisements that the average consumer sees, all of which have the aim of convincing them to want their product, only giving into that urge once a day can certainly feel like eating in moderation. When you’re facing several temptations a day, only giving into one can feel like a victory.

I am also one of those people that somewhat believed in the power of “superfoods”, genuinely thinking that their presence would cancel out any at least some of the junk food that I ate. I knew that this was not completely accurate, but I did think that it was true to an extent. The article states that superfoods aren’t really super, they are just ordinary foods. They are healthy, but they do not have natural “superpowers”. However, food with little to no nutritional value (“freaky foods”) have a disproportionately negative affect on the body. This means that superfoods do not cancel out freaky foods. Ordering vegetables on your pizza does not cancel out the damage that the pizza can do to your body.

So, if I were to change my diet based on this information, what would be the next step? I would make an effort to cut down on processed foods by researching healthy meals that I could quickly make at home. I have been eating a lot more processed foods lately because I have been eating out. Eating at home more often would not only help my diet, it would also help my wallet. I would also do more research on nutrition, in order to have a better idea of which foods are good and bad for my body. This way, I can make my daily eating decisions with specific healthy foods in mind.

Source

Ross, J. (2015, September 23). Why “Everything in Moderation” Doesn’t Work. Retrieved July 21, 2017, from http://greatist.com/eat/everything-in-moderation-doesnt-work

Leave a Reply

