Consumer Health Glossary

Public Health Authority: an agency or authority of the United States Government, a State, a territory, a political subdivision of a State or territory, or an Indian tribe, that is responsible for public health matters as a part of is official mandate, or a person or entity acting under a grant of authority from or contract with such agency.

Secretary, H. O., & (OCR), O. F. (2017, June 16). A Decision Tool: Is the Recipient a Public Health Authority (PHA). Retrieved July 06, 2017, from

Affordable Care Act (ACA): The comprehensive health care reform law enacted in March 2010 (sometimes known as ACA, PPACA, or “Obamacare”).

  • The law has 3 primary goals:
    • Make affordable health insurance available to more people. The law provides consumers with subsidies (“premium tax credits”) that lower costs for households with incomes between 100% and 400% of the federal poverty level.
    • Expand the Medicaid program to cover all adults with income below 138% of the federal poverty level. (Not all states have expanded their Medicaid programs.)
    • Support innovative medical care delivery methods designed to lower the costs of health care generally.

Affordable Care Act (ACA) – Glossary. (n.d.). Retrieved July 06, 2017, from

Federal Poverty Level (FPL): A measure of income issued every year by the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). Federal poverty levels are used to determine your eligibility for certain programs and benefits, including savings on Marketplace health insurance, and Medicaid and CHIP coverage.

The 2017 federal poverty level (FPL) income numbers below are used to calculate eligibility for Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP). 2016 numbers are slightly lower and are used to calculate savings on Marketplace insurance plans for 2017.

$12,060 for individuals

$16,240 for a family of 2

$20,420 for a family of 3

$24,600 for a family of 4

$28,780 for a family of 5

$32,960 for a family of 6

$37,140 for a family of 7

$41,320 for a family of 8

Federal Poverty Level (FPL) – Glossary. (n.d.). Retrieved July 06, 2017, from

Source: Consumer Health Glossary


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s