Health Care Post 2

When the Affordable Care Act first came out, I didn’t think much of it. I thought negatively about it just like every other middle-class person thought. But my outlook changed when I met my boyfriend. He has rheumatoid arthritis and goes in monthly for infusions which cost over $1,000 each month. He has had this since he was 14 and is almost 24. So when you add up the nine years and costs, the number sums up to be a high cost. Without heath care, my boy friend would have a hard time getting infusions.

So, with a new outlook, I think the best outtake from the Affordable Care Act itself that serves others is that, “it increases insurance quality, keeps rates the same even with pre-existing conditions, is required to accept all applicants, as well as improve distribution and accessibility” (Affordable Care Act, 2010).
A way to improve the law it what most people complain about the Act for. All the middle-class people feel unfair since they are paying for people who cannot, while people who are making millions barely notice the cost. It is hard for the middle-class families.
This is probably the hardest part of the act to understand because some people have a hard time paying extra insurance for the kid who over dossed on drugs for using recreational drugs but cannot afford the hospital bills. But what they don’t think about sometimes, is that they often are saving lives of children whose parents cant afford their kids cancer treatment bills and so forth. I myself, have a hard time understanding that as well.
But the most important thing, is that the bill gives everyone an opportunity and the help they need to get better. If I had arthritis like my boyfriend and was getting charged and arm and a leg each year to keep myself healthy, I would be sick all the time and in pain, because I can not afford it and neither can my parents.
He comes from a family below the poverty line, so before the Act came out, it was very hard for them and him. But the Heath Care Act really helped. To look more into the act and what it does, what is covered, and general costs, I found this great website: https://www.healthcare.gov/. The website seems to be clear and easy to navigate through and is an official government website which is important to have.

About Elizabeth

My name is Liz and I love all sorts of sports. I want to become a Seahawks photographer and am currently attending school to build my network and connections with local newspapers and media outlets.

3 thoughts on “Health Care Post 2

  1. Nice post! Keep in mind that sometimes it SEEMS like “everyone” or “all middle-class people” feel the same way, when really it’s because what we hear on the news and see on Facebook, etc seems to TELL us that that’s true.

    A LOT of people, of all backgrounds, have found that they have a good reason to support the ACA. Glad to hear that you and your family have had good experiences with it.

    Oh – a catch: PLEASE remove your full name, ok?

    Like

  2. Congrats Liz (can I can you that?) on being on time! I’m sorry, I’ll come back tomorrow to edit this I have a deadline for another class tonight, and I worked OT all week. Also, I have to young daughters. Anyway, I didn’t mean to make this about me, so sorry. Great post, and again, Congratulations! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. neat, victorianorinev – Congratulating Liz shows me you’re active here, and also engaged in making sure you get the basic gist of Canvas announcements leading you here. Awesome….

      Like

Leave a Reply

