My Intro Post!

I am a junior and this is my second quarter at Central. I am currently studying public health as my minor, and I will hopefully be majoring in film and video studies. I just recently graduated community college with my Associates in arts and sciences. I earned my degree December of last year, and I walked in the commencement ceremony last week!

I have a bad habit of spending frivolously. I choose products as I decide I want them, with little regard for long-term saving. However, I do try to save money when I’m buying particular products by choosing the version of the product that I’m looking for that is worth the least. When I’m shopping at grocery stores, I will look on each tag to make sure I’m paying the least per pound. When I’m shopping online, I check around to make sure I’m getting the best deal. So while I don’t put much thought into how much I’m spending overtime, I do think about how much money I spend on products as I choose them.

A goal of mine this quarter is to completely familiarize with the basic areas of public health and I identify which one or a few that I am very interested in. This way, I can form a better idea of what my long-term learning goals are in terms of this minor. I am also interested in learning more about our country’s complicated healthcare system, and how it will likely be affected by our new congress.

One value that I hold is respect. I think that everyone deserves some level of respect. I do not believe that everyone deserves the same amount of respect. For instance I don’t think that a murderer and a humanitarian deserve the same amount of respect. However, we as human beings deserve to be treated as such. I also hold the value of equality. I believe that all humans deserve basic human rights, regardless of how they identify or look. However, I don’t think this is a value that our society as whole has.

As Americans, we have the right to life. Meaning that we have a right to be born into this world. This does not necessarily mean that we have the right to live a comfortable life, where we all have access to the basic things that we need to be happy and healthy.  It simply means that there we have a right to be born in this country, and we have a right to stay. We also have the right to consume. There are many regulations on what can be sold to consumers, but not so many when it comes to what consumers can buy. There are regulations on certain products to protect the safety of our communities, as well as certain products that it is illegal to buy and sell. But even with those regulations, there is very little that we cannot buy if we have the money to pay for it.

I think that we all should have a right to adequate access to food, water, and shelter. This means plenty of clean water and nutritional food, and shelter that has electricity and can withstand harsh weather. Over half a million people are currently homeless in United States, and many of those people don’t have a consistent income. There are programs in place that help homeless people obtain food, but there are not enough for them to reach everyone. I also think that we all have a right to enjoy life as we please, as long as we are not hurting ourselves or anyone else. There are a variety of things that that people choose to do to make their lives more enjoyable, many of those things may be seen as strange or different by others. I think that we all have a right to enjoy our lives as we want to, regardless of how others feel about it.

 

Leave a Reply

